PHIL MURPHY GOVERNOR

SHEILA OLIVER LT. GOVERNOR



State of New Jersey
BOARD OF PUBLIC UTILITIES
44 South Clinton Avenue
Post Office Box 350
Trenton, New Jersey 08625-0350

www.nj.gov/bpu/
(609)777-3300

Joseph L. Fiordaliso President

Mary-Anna Holden **Commissioner**

Dianne Solomon **Commissioner**

Upendra Chivukula Commissioner

Bob Gordon
Commissioner

October 22, 2020

Deborah M. Franco, Esq. VP, Clean Energy & Sustainability Energy Efficiency & Conservation 520 Green Lane Union, NJ 07083

Re: IN THE MATTER OF THE IMPLEMENTATION OF <u>P.L.</u> 2018, <u>C.</u> 17 REGARDING THE ESTABLISHMENT OF ENERGY EFFICIENCY AND PEAK DEMAND REDUCTION PROGRAMS

IN THE MATTER OF THE PETITION OF SOUTH JERSEY GAS COMPANY FOR APPROVAL OF NEW ENERGY EFFICIENCY PROGRAMS AND ASSOCIATED COST RECOVERY PURSUANT TO THE CLEAN ENERGY ACT

BPU DOCKET NOS. QO19010040 AND GO20090618

Dear Ms. Franco:

We are writing in response to the above-referenced petition, which South Jersey Gas Company ("SJG" or "the Company") filed with the Secretary of the New Jersey Board of Public Utilities ("Board") on September 25, 2020 and supplemented on October 5, 19, and 20, 2020.

Board Staff has reviewed the petition for completeness, in accordance with the Board's June 10, 2020 Order in Docket Nos. QO19010040, QO19060648, and QO17091004 ("June 2020 Order"). Staff has determined that the petition is administratively complete with respect to the Board's Minimum Filing Requirements ("MFRs"). N.J.S.A. 48:3-98.1(b) provides the Board with 180 days to approve, modify, or deny SJG's requested recovery of costs for the above-referenced program. Therefore, the 180-day review period commenced on October 20, 2020.

SJG should work with the parties to develop a schedule that will allow the Board to issue an order in the matter approving, modifying, or denying the requested program and cost recovery mechanism within 180 days of the petition's completed filing. N.J.S.A. 48:3-98.1(b).

Should you have any questions, please contact the undersigned.

Sincerely,

Stacy Peterson

Director, Division of Energy

Kelly Mooij

Director, Division of Clean Energy